District Courts Sheikhupura
Home   | Contact Us   | Login

Brief History of sheikhupura

Sheikhupura District is a district of Punjab province, Pakistan. Sheikhupura is the headquarters of Sheikhupura District. According to the 1998 census of Pakistan, the district had a population of 3,321,029 of which 25.45% were urban.

Sheikhupura District was agricultural region with forests during the Indus Valley Civilization. The Vedic period is characterized byIndo-Aryan culture that invaded from Central Asia and settled in Punjab region. The Kambojas, Daradas, Kaikayas, Madras,Pauravas, Yaudheyas, Malavas and Kurus invaded, settled and ruled ancient Punjab region. After overrunning the Achaemenid Empire in 331 BCE, Alexander marched into present-day Punjab region with an army of 50,000. The Sheikhupura was ruled byMaurya Empire, Indo-Greek kingdom, Kushan Empire, Gupta Empire, White Huns, Kushano-Hephthalites and Shahi kingdoms.

The predominantly Muslim population supported Muslim League and Pakistan Movement. After the independence of Pakistan in 1947, the minority Hindus and Sikhs migrated to India while the Muslim refugees from India settled in the Sheikhupura District.



3,280 square km

Assembly Constituencies

12 (5 National & 8 Provincial)

Core Languages

Urdu, Punjabi, Majhi, Malwa& English


Extreme Climate

Chief Occupations

Trade, Industrialists, Govt. Service, Private firms

Established in


Police Stations



More than 2650300

Rain Fall

635 mm

Surrounded by other districts

6 (Lahore, Nankana Sahib, Narowal. Hafizabad, Faisalabad, Gujranwala)



Union Councils


The Sheikhupura district comprises 5 tehsils:

1. Sheikhupura

2. Ferozewala

3. Muridke

4. Sharaqpur

5. Safdarabad

Sheikhupura is bounded by 6 other districts of Pakistani Punjab:

1. Lahore

2. Nankana Sahib

3. Narowal

4. Hafizabad

5. Faisalabad

6. Gujranwala.

To the east is the international boundary of Amritsar - Punjab, India.

The District has extreme climate; the summer season starts from April and continues till October. During the summer season, temperature ranges from 30 to 45 degrees Celsius. The winter season starts from November and continues till March. December and January are the coldest months with a mean minimum temperature of 5 degrees.

The dust storms occur occasionally during the hot season, during June, July and August. Rainy weather alternates with oppressive weather. The rainfall is 635 mm per year. The mean minimum and maximum humidity during winter is 37% and 84%.

© All photos, graphics and material on this site remain the copyright of District Court Sheikhupura and should not be downloaded without prior agreement